Board of Directors

Wesley Brown

Author of the novels Tragic Magic and Darktown Strutters; the plays Boogie Woogie and Booker T and Life During War Time; and the anthologies Imagining America and Visions of America.

Gabriel Brownstein (Secretary)

Author of the short story collection The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Apt. 3W, winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award; and the novel The Man from Beyond, a New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice; associate professor of English at St. John's University.

Patricia Hampl

Regents professor of English at the University of Minnesota; author of Blue Arabesque, I Could Tell You Stories: Sojourns in the Land of Memory, Virgin Time, and A Romantic Education; recipient of numerous awards, including MacArthur, Guggenheim and Fulbright fellowships.

Toni Katz

Retired principal/director for institutional equity sales at various investment firms, including LF Rothschild, Unterberg, Towbin; Wasserstein, Perella; and Dresdner, Kleinwort, Wasserstein.

Herbert Kohl

Author of a score of books, including 36 Children, Growing Minds, I Won’t Learn From You, and She Would Not Be Moved: How We Tell the Story of Rosa Parks and the Montgomery Bus Boycott; founding director of Teachers & Writers Collaborative.

Bernard Levine

Senior Vice President, Wells Fargo Advisors.

Phillip Lopate

Editor of The Art of the Personal Essay; author of Bachelorhood, Against Joie de Vivre, and Being with Children, about his experiences as a teaching artist with Teachers & Writers Collaborative; director of the nonfiction writing program at Columbia University.

Ron Padgett

Author of many books of poems, including Great Balls of Fire, You Never Know, and How to Be Perfect, and the biographies Joe and Oklahoma Tough; Teachers & Writers Collaborative publications director from 1980-2000.

Steven Schrader (Treasurer)

Author of the short story collections Crimes of Passion, On Sundays We Visit the In-laws, and Arriving at Work, and the memoir What We Deserved; publisher of Cane Hill Press; former Teachers & Writers Collaborative director.

Nancy Larson Shapiro (Chair)

Director of Teachers & Writers Collaborative from 1979-2005; co-editor of The Point: Where Teaching & Writing Intersect.

Tiphanie Yanique

Author of How to Escape a Leper Colony: A Novella and Stories and the children's picture book I Am the Virgin Islands; recipient of the 2011 BOCAS Fiction Prize for Caribbean Literature, the 2010 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Award for fiction, and a 2008 Pushcart Prize; assistant professor of writing, The New School.

Board Members Emeriti 

Walter Dean Myers

David Rogers

Robert Silvers

Carmen Valle