Bechtel Prize



The submission deadline for the 2019 Bechtel Prize has passed. The 2019 winner will be selected by Gabriel Brownstein and announced in early 2019.

Teachers & Writers Collaborative (T&W) awards the annual Bechtel Prize to the author of a submission that explores creative writing, the imagination, and/or imaginative writing and arts education. The submission selected to receive the Bechtel Prize will appear on Teachers & Writers Magazine and the author will receive a $1,000 honorarium. Honoraria totaling $500 are shared by the authors of entries selected as finalists for the prize, which may also be published on Teachers & Writers Magazine.

The Bechtel Prize was named for Louise Seaman Bechtel, the first person to head a juvenile book department at an American publishing house. Teachers & Writers Collaborative thanks The Cerimon Fund for its support of the Bechtel Prize.



Previous Winners

All the award-winning essays are collected here.